Are you ready to vote?

The last day to register for the Nov. 7 General Election is Tuesday, with early voting beginning Wednesday at the county boards of elections. Absentee ballots will also be sent out that day.

“In Ohio and in Washington County, the trend toward voting early seems to be up,” said Peggy Byers, deputy director of the Washington County Board of Elections. “It’s not as big as a presidential election, but there are some township trustees and school board races that have people stirred up.”

In the City of Marietta, there are three contested council races: Geoff Schenkel is up against Glen McCabe for the fourth ward seat vacated by Tom Vukovic; Stan Lang and Steve Thomas will face off for the third ward seat in which Thomas is the incumbent; and Cassidi Shoaf, Cindy Oxender, Kathy Downer and Stephen Harper are vying for three at-large council seats. Downer and Oxender currently hold two of the seats.

Countywide, voters will be able to approve or reject a ballot issue for a behavioral health levy, something supporters say is desperately needed.

“We try to encourage early voting; people don’t have to wait until Nov. 7,” said Jim Raney, co-chair of the Washington County Mental Health Campaign. “Overall we have been getting very positive feedback about the campaign and the levy. We have been advertising, dropping literature and have started our digital campaign that will pick up on certain keywords people type in and drive them to our website.”

Statewide there are two issues on the ballot, which Byers said voters will start getting mailers about from the Secretary of State around Oct. 14.

School board races in Marietta, Belpre, Fort Frye, Frontier, Warren, Wolf Creek, Noble Local, Caldwell Exempted, Federal Hocking and Switzerland of Ohio will bring voters to the polls.

There are three seats available on the Marietta City Schools Board of Education and seven candidates. Voters will decide between two who currently are serving by appointment, Dr. Zane Lazer and Roger Bartunek, and five others who have thrown their hats in the ring.

At the county level, Marietta Municipal Court Judge Janet Dyer Welch will seek to retain her seat against current Marietta City Law Director Paul Bertram.

Early voting is done in person at the Board of Elections, 204 Davis Ave., Suite B. Hours for registering to vote Tuesday are 8 a.m to 9 p.m. Early voting starts Wednesday at 8 a.m. and absentee ballots we be starting to go out at this time.

“We will have poll worker training also, on Oct. 18 at 6:30 p.m.,” said Byers. “It is open to the public and anyone who is interested is invited to attend.”

What’s ahead

Look for a full rundown of issues and candidate questionnaires in the Marietta Times Election Guide, in the Oct. 21-22 edition.

At a glance

Early voting and registration

¯ Tuesday, from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. is the last day to register to vote for the Nov. 7, 2017 General Election.

¯ Oct. 11-13

8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Early in-person voting begins, Board of Elections

*Absentee ballots mailed

¯ Oct. 16-20 and 23-27

8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Early in-person voting

¯ Oct. 30-Nov. 3

8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Early in-person voting

¯ Saturday, Nov. 4

8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Early in-person voting

¯ Sunday, Nov. 5

1 to 5 p.m.

Early in-person voting

¯ Monday, Nov. 6

8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Early in-person voting ends

¯ Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 7

*Must go to your polling place to vote

Poll worker training

¯ Oct. 18 at 6:30 p.m., open to the public.

On the ballot

¯ Ohio Crime Victim’s Bill of Rights (State issue, countywide vote)

¯ Behavioral Health Levy; additional 0.5 mill (County issue, countywide vote)

¯ Belpre City, police, fire and emergency medical services; additional 1.75 mills (City issue, Belpre City)

¯ Lowell Village, current operating expenses; additional 3.75 mills (Village issue, Lowell Village)

¯ Fearing Twp., roads and bridges; replacement 1 mill (Township issue, Fearing Twp.)

¯ Fearing Twp., fire and emergency protection; replacement 2 mills (Township issue, Fearing Twp.)

¯ New Matamoras Village, current operating expenses; replacement 2 mills (Village issue, Matamoras Village)

¯ Newport Twp., fire and emergency protection; replacement 3 mills (Township issue, Newport Twp.)

¯ Warren Twp., fire and emergency protection; renewal 1 mill (Township issue, Warren Twp.)

¯ Watertown Twp., fire and emergency protection; replacement 1.5 mill (Township issue, Watertown Twp.)

City of Marietta contested

¯ Council at large: Cassidi Shoaf, Cindy Oxender, Kathy Downer, Stephen Harper.

¯ Fourth ward: Geoff Schenkel, Glen McCabe.

¯ Third ward: Stan Lang, Steve Thomas.

¯ MCS School Board: Roger Bartunek, Prudence Burgardt, Mark Duckworth, Stacey Hall, Zane Lazer, John Lehman, Doug Mallett.

City of Belpre highlights

¯ Council at large: Donna Miller, Susan Abdella, Judy Drake, John McClead.

¯ Fourth Ward: Penne Riffle, Greg Sanders.

¯ Second: Deborah Marshall, Elmer Lee Shutts.

¯ Belpre school board: Fred Meredith, Leonard Wiggins, Brenda Church, Cathy O’Donnell.

Washington County

¯ Marietta Municipal Court: Judge Janet Dyar Welch, Paul Bertram.


¯ Issue 1: Rights for crime victims

¯ Issue 2: Prescription drug costs

Source: Washington County Board of Elections.