Fort Frye school board attends OSBA conference, trade show

Fort Frye school board members attended the 62nd annual School Boards Association (OSBA) Capital Conference and Trade Show, which was held from Nov. 12 to 14 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. More than 9,000 people attended this year’s conference, which featured more than 150 sessions of panel discussions, workshops, one-on-one assistance and nationally renowned speakers addressing a variety of educational issues. Keynote speakers included actor, writer, and Ohio Native Josh Radnor “How I Met Your Mother,” and Emmy Award winning writer and actress, Sonia Manzano, “Sesame Street.”

During the Capital Conference, OSBA recognized Fort Frye board member Stephanie Lang’s contribution to Resolution 2017-2: Drug Addiction Prevention stating, “it is essential that we provide students with information, skills, and support to help them abstain from such harmful behaviors and its consequences.” The Fort Frye Board of Education has been active in promoting abstaining from risky behaviors.

In its 62nd year, the Ohio School Boards Association leads the way to educational excellence by serving Ohio’s public school board members and the diverse districts they represent through superior service, unwavering advocacy and creative solutions.

During the Nov. 30 Board of Education meeting, Bruce Nottke, OSBA representative, presented Fort Frye Board of Education president, Johnna Zalmanek, an award as OSBA’s Outstanding Board member for the southeast region. Zalmanek has been a Fort Frye board member for eight years. She has served on various committees such as the food service committee, the wellness committee, and was a member of the Joint Vocational School Board. She was praised for her continuous support and leadership skills by other members of the board. Zalmanek is a strong supporter of public schools and is genuinely focused on services and programs for the betterment of students, particularly anti-bullying programs.

Fort Frye Board of Education members include Lloyd Booth, Stephanie Lang, Charlie Schilling, Kevin Worthington and Johnna Zalmanek.