Ohio Byway Links selects new officers

NORWICH, Ohio – Officers were elected to serve the Ohio Byway Links organization at the group’s annual meeting last week in Norwich. Donna Grube, representing the Land of the Cross-Tipped Churches will serve as president. Mike Hocker, with the Lincoln Highway, was elected vice president. Chris Sieverdes, with the Amish Country Byway, continues as the organization’s secretary. And from the Ohio River Scenic Byway, Jeri Knowlton, will be serving as treasurer.

The Ohio Byway Links organization is a coalition of Ohio-designated byways interested in promoting travel & tourism, economic development, and preservation of their byway’s amenities. Ohio Byway Links began in 1999. OBL works with Shyna Gawell, Scenic Byways Program Manager with the Ohio Department of Transportation to introduce and share ideas for the management of the byways. There are currently 27 byways in Ohio.

Jeri Knowlton, executive director of the Marietta-Washington County Convention and Visitors Bureau, noted how important the byway is to the area.

“The beauty of the Ohio River Scenic Byway is a tremendous asset for thea area, not every destination has the luxury of having an America’s byway,” said Knowlton. “Having that national designation makes our job of promoting the Marietta-Washington County area as a distinctive destination that much easier.”