Warren diamond stars honored

Warren will have four All-Southeastern Ohio Athletic League honorees in its lineup when it plays Cadiz Harrison Central in an Ohio Division II regional semifinal baseball game at Gant Municipal Stadium at 2 p.m. Thursday.

Pitcher Danny Pannell and center fielder Lance Schafer each was named to the All-SEOAL first team while catcher Gunnar Smith and shortstop Ethan Estes both were honorable mention.

Pannell, a 6-foot-1 right-hander and Muskingum University recruit, currently owns an 8-2 mound mark with a 1.86 ERA. In 56-1/3 innings of work, he has 50 strikeouts and 33 walks.

Schafer is Warren’s junior leadoff hitter, and is batting .397 with one home run, 8 doubles and 11 stolen bases.

Smith, Pannell’s battery mate, has team-highs in homers (2) and runs batted in (21) to go along with a .356 batting average.

Estes is hitting .357 with 15 RBIs.

Mark Farr-coached Warren has a 15-9 overall record going into Sweet 16 competition. If the Warriors win Thursday, they’ll play in a regional final on Friday with a berth in next week’s state tournament at stake.

Warren has never advanced to state in baseball.

On the girls’ softball side, the All-SEOAL team will feature six Warren honorees.

Shortstop Kendra Lynch, catcher Brandi Douglass, pitcher Kaylee Higgins, center fielder Hailey Murdock, and first baseman Arriane Schetter each made the first team, while left fielder Riley Benson was an honorable mention.

Lynch, a junior and all-league pick last year, was named the Player of the Year. She finished the season with a batting average near the .500 mark.

Warren boss Rachelle Pallini was honored as the SEOAL Coach of the Year.

Benson, the lone senior on the Warren roster, received her high school diploma before last Friday’s district final game against Jackson in McDermott. The SEOAL champion Warriors suffered a 6-3 loss to the Ironladies, and finished the spring campaign with a 20-4 overall mark.

The SEOAL baseball and softball teams were selected by vote of the league coaches. Each team was permitted two automatic honorable mention selections. Not all teams chose two players.