All-East district: Fort Frye’s Lang repeats as a district honoree

Eight Caldwell Redskins, six Monroe Central Seminoles and four Fort Frye Cadets earned All-Eastern District football honors this week for their performances on the gridiron this fall.

In Division VI, Fort Frye’s Chandler Lang and Monroe Central’s Curtis Nixon occupied two of the three spots at quarterback on the first team.

Lang led the Cadets with 1,108 yards on 146 carries in the regular season this year and also threw for 1,107 yards on 72-of-140 passing.

Lang, an all-state selection last year, led Fort Frye to the postseason for the second consecutive year. The Cadets fell to Lucasville Valley in week 11, wrapping up a fine prep career in the red, blue and white for Lang.

Nixon had a tremendous rebound year after suffering a season-ending injury in the preseason in 2012. MC head coach Jay Circosta moved Nixon from wide receiver to quarterback early this season and Nixon rewarded his coach with 1,245 passing yards and 850 rushing yards. He helped lead the ‘Noles to a Pioneer Valley Conference championship and a D6 playoff victory over Centerburg in the first round.

Nixon and fellow first team All-District pick Levi Brown gave Monroe Central a two-headed monster of a rushing attack. Brown totaled 926 rushing yards on 138 carries in the regular season, including 165 and 126 yards in wins over playoff-bound teams in Fort Frye and Caldwell, respectively.

The Seminoles’ rushing attack would not have been near as strong without quality blocking. That’s where senior linemen Marshall Mozena and Cordell Gauding came in, as they were rewarded with selections to the district first team.

Senior linebacker Mike Jones rounded out the Seminoles on the first team. Jones was the leader of a Monroe Central defense that gave up 17 points per game this season.

In Division VII, the first team All-District list looked more like a Caldwell all-star team.

Running back Bricker Lori was one of five Redskins named to the first team. Lori rushed for over 1,300 yards on 168 carries in 12 games this season. Lori provided arguably the biggest play of the season and in the history of Caldwell football when he ran for a 38-yard TD with just over a minute left to defeat Malvern in the first round of the D7 state playoffs. It was the first playoff victory in Caldwell gridiron history.

Quarterback/defensive back Tanner Clark was another first teamer for Caldwell. In addition to locking down the top receivers on opposing teams as a corner back, Clark did quite a bit of damage from under center.

Clark amassed 1,079 yards on 185 rushes in 12 games and also passed for 1,105 yards on 72 completions. Only sophomores, Clark and Lori are just getting started in their already illustrious prep football careers.

Senior linemen Alexi Cubas and Zach Miller each played big roles in Caldwell’s rushing success. Cubas earned first team honors while Miller was named to the second team.

Defensively, Caldwell surrendered over 21 points just twice in 12 games this fall and averaged 13.6 points allowed in the regular season.

Defensive lineman Kameron Rayner and linebacker Andrew Minosky were both first team picks, while lineman Austin Shockling was a second team selection.

Rounding out Caldwell, receiver Tanner Baker was a second team pick. Baker, a junior, caught 39 balls for 573 yards this season.

Also receiving second team honors in D6 was Shenandoah’s Michael VanFossen, Monroe Central’s Bryan Duffy and Fort Frye’s Garrett Hall and Colten Shuster.

VanFossen carried the ball 176 times for 1,083 yards for the 1-9 Zeps this season.

Duffy, a receiver, made 24 receptions for 372 yards for the ‘Noles, while guard/linebacker Hall was a senior leader for the Cadets this fall. Shuster rushed for 610 yards on 94 carries.

Earning special mention in D6 was Shenandoah’s Kaleb Thompson, Tanner Moore, Ryan Lovette and Fort Frye receivers Terren Huck and Zach Prichard.

Players who did not receive district mention but did make All-PVC were Monroe Central’s Jake Scheurman and Gavin Morton and Frontier’s Rodney Barnes and Mitch Minder.

Circosta and Caldwell head coach Josh Perkins were selected as co-Coaches of the Year in the PVC.

In the East Central Ohio League, Marietta had three players earn all-league. Quinton Coffield was a first team selection, Garrett Davis earned second team honors and Chance Wright was honorable mention.