BACF basketball rosters set

PARKERSBURG – The rosters have been announced for Saturday’s 13th annual BACF (Battle Against Cystic Fibrosis) Ohio vs. West Virginia Basketball Classic at Parkersburg South High School.

The girls game tips off the evening at 5 p.m. in the Rod Oldham Athletic Center, followed by the boys game at 7 p.m.

Both contests pit seniors from area Ohio high schools against their counterparts from West Virginia.

The girls series is now tied at 6-6 as Ohio has won six of the last eight meetings after W.Va. was victorious in the first four.

For the boys, West Virginia has dominated to lead by an 11-1 margin, with Ohio’s only win coming in 2011 by a 110-100 score.

All proceeds from the evening go to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation for research into finding a cure for the inherited chronic disease that affects the lungs and digestive system of about 30,000 children and adults in the United States and 70,000 worldwide.

Tickets are $5 at the gates, which will open at 4:30 p.m.

The West Virginia girls’ head coach is Gilmer County’s Amy Chapman, whose roster features two players from Class A state runner-up St. Marys in 6-4 center Kendra Walker and 5-4 guard Mikeala Britton as well as Asia Pettite and Rachel Lee of Class A state champion Huntington St. Joseph.

The Ohio girls’ head coach is Proctorville Fairland’s Jon Buchanan, who has a pair of players from Ohio Division IV state champion Eastern on his team in Katie Keller and Erin Swatzel. Fort Frye’s Brooke Borich will be the captain for the girls team.

On the boys’ side, the West Virginia head coach is Point Pleasant’s Josh Williams, who has five players from state tournament teams Parkersburg South and Parkersburg Catholic on his squad in the Patriots’ 6-6 forward Logan Lawrentz and 6-2 forward Dylon Rippeto and the Crusaders’ 5-8 point guard Payton Sturm, 6-0 forward Joe Padden and 5-11 guard Jake Ullman.

Mark Romick of River is the head coach for the Ohio boys.

Local players on his team are Nick Therriault of Belpre, Fort Frye’s Chandler Lang, Wyatt Porter from Waterford, Marietta’s Braden Riley and Drew Schneider from Frontier.

Lang will be the captain for the boys team.