DeSalvo named to National College Baseball HOF class

MARIETTA – Marietta College 2002 graduate Matt DeSalvo, the winningest pitcher in NCAA history, will join six others as part of the 11th National College Baseball Hall of Fame induction class.

The announcement was made Thursday. DeSalvo and the rest of the 2016 class will be inducted during the annual Night of Champions celebration of college baseball on July 1-2 in Lubbock, Texas.

Joining DeSalvo in the class is Robert Braddy, who coached Jackson State University from 1973-2000 winning more than 800 games and advancing to the NCAA Tournament three times; JD Drew, an All-American outfielder at Florida State University from 1995-97; Augie Garrido, the winningest coach in college baseball history with more than 1,900 wins at several Division I schools including Texas and California State Fullerton; Rick Monday, the 1965 National Player of the Year for Arizona State University; Tom Paciorek, an All-American outfielder at the University of Houston from 1966-68; and Tommy Thomas, a winner of better than 1,300 games as the head coach at Valdosta State University from 1968-07.

“We are excited to induct this class,” said Mike Gustafson, president and CEO of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame. “It is remarkable that this is our 11th induction class and they are this accomplished.”

DeSalvo’s 53-6 career record represents the most wins by any collegiate pitcher at any level, and his 603 career strikeouts are the second most of any pitcher at any level of college baseball.

“Matt is the best pitcher that I’ve seen in Division III baseball,” Marietta head coach Brian Brewer said. “He was a dominating pitcher and is most deserving of becoming the first Division III pitcher inducted into the College Baseball Hall of Fame.”

DeSalvo pitched for the Etta Express from 1999-2003. While an injury caused him to miss most of the 2002 season, he was the top Division III pitcher in 2000, 2001 and 2003. DeSalvo was named first team All-Ohio Athletic Conference, All-Mideast Region and All-American in each of those three years.

DeSalvo was also named the OAC Kent Tekulve Pitcher of the Year (2000, 2001 and 2003), the Division III National Player of the Year (2001) and the Division III National Pitcher of the Year (2003). He was inducted into the Marietta College Athletic Hall of Fame in 2014.

“Matt was one of the toughest players, both physically and mentally, in the game,” Brewer said. “He had a tremendous work ethic and was a great teammate.”

DeSalvo will be the fourth representative of NCAA Division III Baseball to be inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame joining former MC Pioneer head coach Don Schaly ’59; Tim Jorgensen, who played for the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh from 1992-95; and Bill Holowaty, head coach at Eastern Connecticut State University from 1969-2013.