Warren senior eyes Convo, college basketball

RON JOHNSTON The Marietta Times
Warren’s Josh Huffman, left, handles the ball as Morgan’s Marty Sidwell defends during a high school boys basketball game Friday in Vincent.

RON JOHNSTON The Marietta Times Warren’s Josh Huffman, left, handles the ball as Morgan’s Marty Sidwell defends during a high school boys basketball game Friday in Vincent.

Josh Huffman

Warren

Year: senior

Age: 18

GPA: 3.1

Favorite subject: sciences or history

Sports: basketball

Hgt.: 6-foot-5

Position: forward/post

College: Marietta College or Muskingum University

Major: health sciences (physical therapy)

Familey: Jared Huffman and April Beck (father and mother)

Question: Is basketball a year-round sport for you?

Answer: (Laughs) The most I get off in a year is maybe a month and even then in that month, I’m still lifting the whole month.

I go from the regular season to working out with Coach (Blane) Maddox to travel basketball, back to Coach Maddox and then I get two months of lifting in.

Q: You play hoops during the summer then?

A: I play for the Washington County Bullets from this area. We’ve played some of the best competition I’ve ever seen. We’ve gone to Florida and played some pretty big guys down there.

Q: When did you start playing basketball?

A: I believe I started playing in the second grade in a church league on Emerson in Parkersburg. From the fourth grade until junior high, I played three sports year-round –basketball, baseball, and football. But when I got to junior high, I decided to just focus on basketball.

Q: I’m surprised somebody didn’t try to recruit you for football or a spring sport?

A: (Laughs) They did. Well, you know when the head coach of track (Sally Maddox) is married to the head coach of basketball (Blane Maddox), you hear about track all the time. I’m actually considering running track this year (2018) to keep myself in shape and ready for college (basketball) next year.

Q: If you do run track, what events would you do?

A: High jump and stuff like that.

Q: At 6-5, have you always been a frontcourt player?

A: When I was younger, I was around the same height as everyone. I just had post moves that the other guys didn’t have, so I always played post.

But as you get older, you have to be able to play both ways (in the backcourt). That’s what I heard if I wanted to play in college.

Q: So, you’ve been working on your ballhandling and the 3-ball?

A: Now, I’m working on everything. I’m looking forward to be able to shoot the three, now. I’m looking to change things up this year against other teams.

Q: So, college basketball is definitely in your future?

A: It’ll probably be either Marietta College or Muskingum University, and just how the financial aid works out. I’ve pretty much got everything mapped out right now.

Q: What team and personal goals have you set for yourself on the hardwood this winter?

A: As a team, we want to go back to the Convocation Center (at Ohio University). I went there with the varsity when I was a freshman and we haven’t been back there since.

Personally, I’d like to reach 1,000 career points. This season, I’d have to average 25 a game to get it and that’s without a tournament run. That’s just something on the side if I can do it. Mostly, I just want to got back to the Convo.

Q: What kind of team will Warren be this season?

A: The guys have been working their tails off, and we’ll have a completely different style of team than last year. It’s going to be fun, and I think we’re going to surprise a lot of people.

Q: During your career, has there been a particular basketball highlight that stands out?

A: Probably our game at Fort Frye last season. I scored 23, I think, in that one, but more importantly, we won. We had so much energy on the floor that game. And, it was pretty exciting going up against Justin (Anderson).

Getting a double-double against Logan Elm in the sectional last season was great. But in that game, I double sprained my ankle. Chase (Weihl) also hurt his ankle in that game, and we were both trying to hobble around and make the best of it.

Q: Who has inspired you or helped impact your basketball career at Warren?

A: My mom and my grandpa on my mom’s side. His name is Mike Beck, and he had a stroke during spring break last year. That’s why when I go to college, I want to get into physical therapy.

My mom has raised me as a single parent for most of her life. Just seeing the dedication she’s had raising me has inspired me.

Q: What do you do off the hardwood?

A: I like being with my friends and being outside. I enjoy fishing and boating.

Q: As an only child, you don’t get spoiled, do you?

A: (Laughs) That’s the best part, getting spoiled.

Ron Johnston, rjohnston@mariettatimes.com

COMMENTS