Marietta, Belpre, Wood County schools, others to be closed on Tuesday

Wood County, Belpre and Marietta city schools are among the districts announcing schools will be closed on Tuesday because of the weather.

In Marietta, Superintendent William Hampton said 9 inches of snow fell from Sunday and Monday and roads remained rough and slick.

Hampton also expressed concern for the safety of teenagers who drive to and from school.

Schools in West Virginia that will be closed Tuesday include Parkersburg Catholic Elementary School, Parkersburg Catholic High School, Calhoun County, Ritchie County, Tyler County, Wirt County, Roane County, Wetzel County, Jackson County, Doddridge County, Pleasants County, Wood County Christian School and Wood County where 261-day contracted employees are on two-hour delay. Ritchie and Wirt county schools are doing non-traditional learning Tuesday.

Districts in Ohio include Marietta, Belpre City Schools, Belpre Christian School, Washington County Career Center-High School, Meigs Local Schools, Ewing School, Southern Local Schools, Eastern Local Schools and Noble Local Schools. Fort Frye Local Schools is closed for teacher professional development.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.15/week.

Subscribe Today