Civitan awards scholarhips to three area students

Since 1969, the Marietta Civitan Club has awarded scholarships to graduating seniors in Washington County. Recently, the club awarded $1000 scholarships to three 2019 graduating seniors. Each applicant for these scholarships completed and application and submitted an essay and references, with finalists interviewed by the scholarship committee. Recipients were chosen based on a number of criteria, including school and community activities, scholarship and need. The following are the 2019 recipients.

Margaret Gottfried, a Marietta High School graduate, received the Ken Coffman Memorial Scholarship. She is the daughter of James and Diane Gottfried and will be attending The Ohio State University to major in biomedical engineering.

Abigail Ketchum, daughter of Damon and Amy Ketchum, is also a Marietta High School graduate. Abby, who was awarded the Charlie Thrash Memorial Scholarship, will pursue a degree in elementary education at Marietta College.

Holly McCoy is a graduate of Warren High School and was awarded the Art Jones Memorial Scholarship. The daughter of Mike and Martha McCoy, Holly will major in animal science at the University of Findlay.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)