Six Washington County students receive 2019 FAO Scholarships

NELSONVILLE — The Foundation for Appalachian Ohio (FAO) is proud to support the region’s students, from Clermont to Ashtabula counties, in pursuing post-secondary education. And this year, FAO is pleased to announce that more than $390,000 in scholarships have been awarded through over 530 awards so far to support over 240 students in achieving their dreams.

These awards were made possible by the people and friends of Appalachian Ohio, who know that setting students up for success is one of the most beneficial things they can do for the region’s young people and their communities. That’s why many FAO donors have together created more than 280 scholarship funds focused on encouraging the pursuit of post-secondary education.

2019 scholarship recipients from Washington County include:

Four 2019 Washington County graduates received the Bob Evans and Wayne White Legacy Scholarship. The Bob Evans and Wayne White Legacy Scholarship remembers the legacy and commitment of these two friends to Applachian Ohio by supporting graduating high school seniors throughout the 32 Appalachian Ohio counties. This year’s awardees include:

¯ Madalyn Moore, a graduate of Marietta High School who plans to attend either Ohio University or Miami University.

¯ Halle Richards, a graduate of Belpre High School who plans to attend The Ohio State University.

¯ Allex Teters, a graduate of Waterford High School who plans to attend either Cedarville University or Marietta College.

¯ Jordan Weber, a graduate of Marietta High School who plans to attend either Kent State University or Ohio University.

Additionally, Bailey Harlow and Abigail Werry, both 2019 graduates of Warren High School, were awarded the Jennifer Garrison Public Service Scholarship. The Jennifer Garrison Public Service Scholarship is awarded to students with a continued passion for public service in Monroe, Noble, and Washington counties who have served in an elected position within their school’s student government. In the fall, Bailey plans to attend either Capital University or Marietta College, and Abigail plans to attend either Kent State University or Marietta College.

The full list of FAO’s 2019 scholarship recipients is available at AppalachianOhio.org/2019Scholarships.

Each year FAO works with donors and its volunteer Scholarship Committee to award scholarships through a competitive application process to students pursuing varied paths of post-secondary education across the 32 counties of Appalachian Ohio. In this way, FAO works to honor the legacy and story behind each of our more than 280 donor-established scholarship funds.

The Foundation for Appalachian Ohio’s mission is to create opportunities for Appalachian Ohio’s citizens and communities by inspiring and supporting philanthropy. For more information regarding FAO’s scholarships, visit AppalachianOhio.org/Scholarships.

If you are interested in how you can help students pursue their dreams by supporting educational opportunities, contact the Foundation for Appalachian Ohio at 740-753-1111.