Warren’s Peyten Kellar earns OVAC wrestling honor

WHEELING — Rick Welker chairs the committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling dignitaries that select the honorees. The West Virginia representatives are Dr. Dan Doyle and Ron Mauck. The Ohio representatives are Kim North and Sean Smith.

Today, the committee has the extreme pleasure of announcing the 34th annual winners of “OVAC Bill Welker West Virginia and Ohio Wrestlers of the Year Award.”

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year’s winners are Parkersburg South’s Gavin Quiocho and Warren High School’s Peyten Kellar.


* Four-Time Sectional Champion (2018-2019-2020-2021)

* Four-Time District Champion (2018-2019-2020-2021)

* Three-Time OHSAA All-State Place-winner (2018-2019-2021)

* 2021 OHSAA State Champion

* 2020 OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Champion

* Two-Time ECOL Champion (2020-2021)

*2021 ECOL Wrestler of the Year

* 2021 Jimmy Wood Memorial Tournament Most Valuable Wrestler

* 2018 – Flo Nationals Place-winner

* Senior Record: 36-0

* Career Record: 185-10 (144 Falls)

Future Plans: Peyten Kellar plans to matriculate and wrestle at Ohio University, majoring in Criminal Justice.

Head Coach: Jeff Parsons

Assistant Coaches: Cory Parsons, Michelle Kellar, and JR Kellar


* Three-Time Region IV Champion (2019-2020-2021)

* Four-Time West Virginia AAA State Champion (2018-2019-2020-2021)

* Gavin Quiocho is the fourth Parkersburg South “Patriot” wrestler to win four state titles, following in the footsteps of David Jeffrey (Class of 2012), Justin Allman (Class of 2017) and Josh Humphreys (Class of 2018)

* Three-Time OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Place-winner (2018-2019-2020)

* 2020 OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Finalist

* 2020 WSAZ Tournament Champion

* Two-Time PowerAde Tournament Place-winner (2018-2019)

* 2019 Walsh Ironman Place-winner

* Senior Record: 22-1 (13 Falls)

* Career Record: 143-30 (86 Falls)

Future Plans: Gavin Quiocho plans to matriculate and wrestle at Glenville State College, majoring in Elementary Education.

Head Coach: Shaun Smith

Assistant Coaches: Dave Jeffrey, Mark Board, Andy Church, David Jeffrey, Tyler Koreski, Jeremy Layner, Dean Moore, Andrew Parsons, and John Price


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today