Drew Huffman had memorable baseball career at Warren

Courtesy photo Warren senior Drew Huffman is a four-year starter for the Warriors’ baseball team.

Drew Huffman


Year: senior

Age: 18

GPA: 3.2

Favorite subject: science

Sports: baseball (4-year letter winner), football (freshman year)

B: left

T: left

College: University of Akron

Major: mechanical engineering

Family: Greg and Julie Huffman (father and mother); Lauren Huffman (older sister)

Question: How long have you been playing baseball?

Answer: Since I was 3-years-old. My dad got me started.

Q: What’s your favorite MLB team?

A: The Indians. (Laughs) But George Springer (of the Houston Astros) is my favorite players. I like watching him play.

Q: Have you always been an outfielder/pitcher?

A: Right, except when I was younger, I played a little first base.

Q: As a lefty, do you feel like you have a little advantage on the diamond?

A: Sort of, because, I guess, we’re different. (Laughs)

Q: What position do you prefer, outfield or pitching?

A: Outfield, because it’s less stressful. I also like playing center field the best.

Q: Have you always been a leadoff hitter?

A: Just since my sophomore year. In my freshman year, I hit in the 9-hole.

Q: In the sixth inning the other night in the district semi (vs. Circleville), how’d you get on base?

A: Catcher’s interference. I can’t recall every getting on base that way. (Note: Warren rallied to tie the score at 1-all in that inning, and then won the game in its final at-bats.)

Q: Playing baseball for Warren and Beverly/Lowell, you’ve experienced a lot of highlights. Any one of them stand out?

A: Last week (May 16) beating Marietta (in a sectional final, 5-4) was my favorite moment. (Note: Huffman got the win in relief.)

Also, when Beverly/Lowell played at state and in the regional (Great Lakes), it was awesome.

Q: How’s Beverly/Lowell going to be this summer?

A: We’ve got pretty much everybody back, so it should be a good summer.

Q: Who’s had an impact on your baseball career?

A: My dad. He’s pushed me to get better and to keep improving.

Q: What do you do off the diamond? Any hobbies?

A: I just like to hang out with my friends and watch other sports, like football. I like Ohio State.

Q: You’ll be graduating Friday. Anything you’d like to shout out?

A: I’d just like to thank all my teachers for everything they’ve done for me, and getting me ready for college?

Q: Would you like to continue playing baseball at Akron?

A: I’m thinking of trying out for the team. But we’ll see.

Ron Johnston, rjohnston@mariettatimes.com