Parkersburg Catholic celebrates 62nd annual commencement

Parkersburg Catholic High School celebrated its 62nd annual Commencement on Friday, May 26, at 7 p.m. in the school gymnasium. The graduation ceremony’s guest speaker was Jeff Jones, a 1985 graduate of PCHS. Jones most recently was Uber’s First President of the global ride sharing business and had accountability for operations in 450 cities and 70 countries. Jones was the former EVP/Chief Marketing Officer for Target. He was named “One to Watch” by the Wall Street Journal, “Marketer of the Year” by Mass Market Retailer, “2016 Power Player” by AdAge, “One of the World’s Most Influential CMO’s” by Forbes, and “Top 20 Social CMO’s” by Fortune. His work has been profiled by Harvard Business Review, and in the books, Rebuilding Empires, What the New Breed of CMO’s Know That You Don’t, and Chief Marketing Officers At Work. Jones and his wife of 23 years, Margaret, have two high school daughters, Hannah and Maura. He is a graduate of the University of Dayton and Fork Union Military Academy.

Parkersburg Catholic High School announces that Michael Stuckert, Class Valedictorian, will be attending Miami University of Ohio, majoring in chemistry. Salutatorian, Chloe Kern, will attend The Ohio State University, majoring in biochemistry. Over $ 2.8 million in scholarships was offered to the class of 2017.

At the Senior Awards Assembly held on Monday, May 15, a number of scholarships were announced that were offered from colleges and universities and awarded directly to graduates. WV’s Promise Scholarship recipients are Noah Chidester, Megan Ferch, Alexandra Hansen, and Katelyn Kammerer. Principal Award Winners presented by Mrs. Karen Robinson were Megan Ferch, Andrew O’Callaghan, Ryan Roedersheimer, Alexis Saunders, Michael Stuckert, Isaac Walters, and Abigail Witucky. Other scholarship awards include:

Ostrowski Family Memorial Scholarship – Ryan Roedersheimer

Robert J. and Ernestine Gissy Scholarship – Alexandra Hansen

John T. Smith Scholarship – Megan Ferch

Max T. Kreig Award – Sydney Roseland

United National Bank OJ Stout Scholarship – Robert Barton, Noah Chidester, Christian Tallman, Isaac Walters

DAR Good Citizen Award – Megan Ferch

Magnum Magnetics Scholarship – Emilee Bradley

Elks Most Valuable Student Award -Noah Chidester

James Wood Chapter to Daughters of the American Revolution Scholarship – Megan Ferch

DeSales Heights Alumnae Award in Honor of the Sisters of the Visitation – Megan Ferch

Eldon A. Frank Scholarship – Nguye Ngoc Quynh Nhu

Stephanie Frank Scholarship – Noah Chidester

Fr. Lester and Mark Fleming Award – Ryan Roedersheimer, Isaac Walters

St. Thomas Aquinas Award – Michael Stuckert

St. Sebastian Award – Andrew O’Callaghan, Abigail Witucky

Ruby Voilte/Winans Scholarship – Michael Stuckert

Wendy’s Heisman Award – Alec Hinton, Abigail Witucky

Wood County Rotary Scholarship – Emilee Bradley, Noah Chidester, Abigail Witucky

Mid-Ohio Valley Marshall Alumni Association Scholarship – Andrew O’Callaghan

Earlene Tennant Award – Emilee Bradley

Dr. John C. Bryce Award – Andrew O’Callaghan

Mary Ostrowski Award – Abigail Witucky

Gooley Marchi Award – Ryan Roedersheimer

West Virginia University Parkersburg – Future Promise Scholarship – Nguyen Ngoc Quynh Nhu

Rev. John L. and Lucille E. Holbert Scholarship – Andrew O’Callahan

Dave Elmo Memorial Scholarship – Aaron Collins

American Chemical Society Outstanding Chemical Award – Micheal Stuckert

Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation Student Leadership Award- Emilee Bradley, Noah Chidester, Reagan Haas, Chloe Kern

Mark Studenic Scholarship – Emilee Bradley

James S. and Brenda A. Measell Scholarship – Emilee Bradley

Scholastic Art and Writing Award National Silver Medal Winner – Megan Ferch

2017 EQT Student of Excellence Scholar – Noah Chidester

Governors Honor Academy Scholar – Noah Chidester

Way United Methodist Church Scholarship – Noah Chidester

Turner Pest Control Scholarship -Emilee Bradley

Occupational Therapy/Physical Therapy DAR Scholarship – Emilee Bradley

WV Mountaineer Boys State – Noah Chidester, Andrew O’Callaghan, Michael Stuckert

WV Rhododendron Girls State – Emilee Bradley, Claire Earley, Megan Ferch, Reagan Haas, Alexandra Hansen, Chloe Kern, Sydney Roseland, Mary Winans, Abigail Witucky

WTAP Student Athlete Awards – Noah Chidester, Alec Hinton, Andrew O’Callaghan, Isaac Walters, Abigail Witucky

LKC Awards – Logan Plummer, Ryan Roedersheimer, Alexis Saunders, Isaac Walters, Abigail Witucky

Washington State Community College Distinction Schoalrship – Sydney Roseland

Miami of Ohio University Red Hawks Distinction Scholarship – Michael Stuckert

Ben Wofford Scholarship – Noah Chidester

West Virginia University Scholarships – Alexandra Hansen

Marshall University Scholarships – Andrew O’Callaghan

Marietta College Scholarships and Grants – Reagan Haas

Marietta College Pioneer Grant – Adrien Mills

Bethany College Scholarships – Ryan Roedersheimer

Wheeling Jesuit University Scholarships – Megan Ferch, Abigail Witucky

WJU Bishop Michael J. Bransfield Scholarship – Megan Ferch, Abigail Witucky

University of Findlay Scholarships – Emilee Bradley

The Ohio State University Trustees Scholarship – Alec Hinton


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.15/week.

Subscribe Today